George R. Martin, Return of the Jedi, A Writer’s Blues, and Happy New Year

31 12 2012

Well I published professionally once this year, and I suppose I should be thankful for that. I’ve got a major case of type II writer’s block. Type II is the kind of block where you just don’t have the discipline to put your ass in a chair and do the work. I’ll be working on that in the near future.

Want to hear something really stupid? I avoid writing about George Martin because I’m actually afraid that one day he will come across this site and read what I’ve written. This guy is probably one of the most successful writers in the world; he single handedly  reinvigorated the fantasy genre and brought legions of people to geek culture and I am actually worried that he will see this dinky blog and not like what I say. Who has the ego problem? So I won’t say much on George other than to wonder if this will be the year that brings us Winds of Winter. Probably not.

So it is New Years Eve and I am doing almost exactly what I want: watching “Return of the Jedi.” So it isn’t “Empire Strikes Back,” but this has been a pretty shitty year for me, so I think it fitting that I watch Jedi as opposed to Empire. (Chewbacca is getting ready to get caught in the ewok trap- stupid ewoks).

Aren’t you glad there is a third world coz’ you really don’t want to have to compete with those people.

I used to live near the beach, and I would wake up in the middle of the night and walk down to the sand and sit there and listen to the ocean and think, “Damn, I’m so lucky.” It isn’t such a bad way to be. We worked on the beach, me and these pretty and tanned kids and we would drink ourselves stupid and roll down the A-1A with the surf and the stars and the sand all in our hair and eyes and it was a good way to be. I’ll never go back, never be back there- and that is okay too. There is nothing more precious than that which is fleeting, and what is there to say about good times while they last? That is what songs are for.

Thoughts for leaving an arbitrary thing behind.

 

Cheers and new years.

acp

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

