The Call of C’Thulu… he never calls back

19 03 2012

I’m back from a hiatus of research and reading. It was much needed. I had run a bit thin of inspiration which I want to differentiate from writer’s block. I wasn’t really having any problem’s writing- scenes, exchanges, descriptions- but I just wasn’t feeling any particular excitement over subject.  So I started reading. Subjects I have covered in the past three months are:

World War One

The Byzantine Empire

The Early Modern Humanists and the Rise of Protestantism

Iran: Post Revolution

Dinosaurs

Dinosaurs really doesn’t count as I am in a constant state of dinosaurs. World War One was approached via Barbara Tuchman’s The Guns of August, the completion of which means I have now read her entire body of work (making me quite sad). I was reading some action reports from Verdun last week and broke down crying. It was quite sudden, and unexpected and after I regained my composure I broke out a collection of recent C’thulu stories and decided that, yes, there are fates worse than death.

But on a happier note, I feel brimming with material. Three near completion, two complete and edited. I wish I was one of those people that could write a story a week or even one a month, but instead I don’t write (or at least finish) a story for six months and then write twelve in a weekend. It sucks, especially when I run dry and need to edit.

So more on that as time goes by. I will return soon with something embarrassing, I’m sure.

A big howdy to a friend in the BC: howdy MP! It was wonderful to hear from you.

The science of fishing.

yeah.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

