Quick Addendum

2 02 2010

Just wanted to let you know if you have any last minute votes for ‘sexiest men of sci-fi’ now is the time to get them in. I have a rough top 25 (we had a lot of votes!) but I will take them through tomorrow morning.

And a happy acceptance from The Drabbler (I’m not sure if this is the best link, but I will work on that). A “drabble” as defined by Sam, of that site, is a story that is 100 words on the dot, with up to sixteen words allowed for title. When I ran across this a couple of months ago I was intrigued and took up the cause of writing one. It was actually a lot of fun and to be honest I’m thrilled to have mine accepted. The email I got was funny as heck too. Here tis:

Dear Andrew Porter:
Sozar to you! Your drabble, "The Refugees ", has been accepted for Issue 16, 
Alien Architecture. In addition to a contributor's copy, you will be 
receiving a Hauran dollar!
The issue will be released around mid-March, so if your quadrants have 
changed, please inform The Embassy at your earliest possible convenience!
Thank you again for your continued support of The Drabbler, and I look 
forward to reading more of your work. If you have any ideas for themes, 
please direct those to The Embassy as well.
Sincerely Yours,
The Boortean Ambassador to Haura
Terrie Leigh Relf

I have no idea what that means, but I love it. Remind me to spend more time on flash fiction in the future. Hmmm fff.

You know, that whole signing off as a potentate was my thing.

Science of fiction…                                                                                                                          Andrew C. Porter                                                                                                                            Nurf Herder second class in the Science of Fiction

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 02 2010
Ken Duke

Congrats! 100 words, eh? I never heard of Flash Fiction until now. I’ve got to check some out.

2 02 2010
silverstairs

Go to Duotrope.org. they have a pretty universal definition of flash fiction…. alright it’s fiction of 1K or less. But Duotrope is a good site for sales.

Leave a Reply

